Tags

How To Overcome Fear Of Public Speaking: This is a subject which most people have to deal with. Most of the time when I coach professionals on public speaking – the most commonly cited fear of public speaking is caused by fear of being judged, making a costly mistake, or the lack of self confidence because of the comparisons with better speakers you see on TV. If you are coming from an authentic place, and you cover the material with clarity and sincerity, you’ve won 75% of your inner battle with fear.

I’ve been hearing on the grapevine for years that his six hour workshop called ‘Speaking Circles’ has really changed people’s lives and I thought I’d give it a go with mine. Hermine Hilton, the well known memory expert, tells of a speaking engagement in How to overcome fear of public speaking Nigeria where she tried to pronounce the names of members of the audience and innocently added sexual innuendo.

Much of a public speaker’s fear comes from the expectation that your audience will be judgmental; that they will talk later about you and not about what you have to say. Many people find that relabelling their fear as excitement” or anticipation” creates a much more positive and resourceful mindset. For the first time ever I felt I had a real understanding as to: what goes on with us to make us nervous about public speaking; and how we should perceive the audience and the craft. Your course and reprogramming about our irrational fears and the way you taught us to overcome these and engage the audience and make my words land all worked for me in spades.

You must be in control of your crowd and not let your fear of public speaking be in control of you. You also will avoid one of the biggest pitfalls that cause people to experience public speaking anxiety. The key to overcoming fear of public speaking is in the content of the speech not the preparation and delivery. I really enjoyed the activities too, it helped address how I felt when speaking in public, and made me realise that I can overcome my fears quite easily.

I actually think that creating this environment made me more inclined to get up and practice and give all the exercises a good go! The fear that robs people of who they are meant to be, and how to face and overcome your fear, especially when standing up in front of an audience. Mr. Banderas was well on his way to overcoming his fear when, as shown in the top photo, he became aware that someone had invited Eugene Toilethead” Johnson to the news conference.

Like any good skill in life worth having, public speaking is one of those subjects that you can find in a course and learn. You are at a friend’s wedding and you are called upon to give the welcoming address or a toast. For now, let’s assume you’ve prepared your talk, made your mnemonic notes (memory jolts or cue cards), so you’re ready to go. Speak your presentation to yourself. It may even sound weird to think that fear of success is even a common social phobia. Fear permeates all of society as the basis of what our civilization is built upon. Be sure to take lots of small gifts to give out and be prepared to receive some too.

When you make negative statements concerning public speaking, it will reinforce your fear of public speaking. I share some of my ideas at my website and my blog Speaking Freely at -/speaking-freely/. We don’t genuinely mean to frighten you, just remind you that your body reacts ‘in extremis’ when put under pressure, and for many people, public speaking is just concerning the worst pressure they are able to be put under.

